What's the story on cello?

Started by PurosIndios1, 04/28/2018 12:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

What's the story on cello?

Cello On

PurosIndios1

So i'm new to cigars so excuse my ignorance but I  just wanted to clarify what the purpose of the cello is? I've heard the cigars don't breathe with it on? What about aging? Thx in advance, I really appreciate your help!

Brlesq

Good question that hasn't been asked in a while!
Bruce
Chief Enabler 
Guru of Decorum & Sarcasm

Hey! How come Habana is written on here with a Sharpie ?!?

A day without whiskey is like . . . just kidding, I have no idea!

shakinghorizons

It's like a condom, use it everytime! If it looks bad, double bag.

bstessl

Quoteshakinghorizons - 4/28/2018  10:23 AM  It's like a condom, use it everytime! If it looks bad, double bag.

:lmao:
Smoking cigarettes is a habit, smoking a cigar is an event. - Brad Paisley

WatchmanUSA

Do whatever let's you sleep at night
"Why pay $100 on a therapy session when you can spend $25 on a cigar? Whatever it is will come back; so what, smoke another one."  Raul Julia

DonM

Rather than be OCD about it, store them as you get them

"The Curmudgeon"

Deener27

"Sometimes you eat the bear, and sometimes the bear, well, he eats you." The Stranger

"Judge Smails: You know, you should play with Dr. Beeper and myself. I mean, he's been club champion for three years running and I'm no slouch myself.

"You may run like Mays, but you hit like !@#$." ~Lou Brown in Major League

"Looks like you have El Hosel, the laterals—you know, the S-word" ~ Romeo in Tin Cup

c9belayer

Purpose: Protect the cigar during handling, shipping, storing, and from mold, Lasioderma serricorne, etc.

Breathe: If untreated (and I suspect all cigar manufacturers use untreated cellulose hydrate) it is air-permeable and biodegradable. So yes, cigars can "breathe" (if by 'breathe' you mean can humidity transfer take place).

Aging: Again, yes.  It'll happen slower, but it will happen nonetheless.