Newbie must haves?

Started by Deadl0ck, 11/08/2018 05:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Deadl0ck

As a newbie, I'm wondering if any of the more experienced smokers have any suggestions on what must-haves there are. Preferably on a budget, since my disposable income is generally speaking very limited.

I currently have: A simple jet lighter to toast and light the cigar with, a simple 2 sided guillotine cutter, a simple 15-20 cigar table humidor and a simple cigar ashtray.  

I've been looking at getting some stuff from china, (aliexpress) but I don't know if that's going to be worth the money, it tends to be very hit and miss, is my experience. I've been eyeing a few different style cutters, like 3 blade scissors, and a simple 2 dollar v-cutter, and a 3 jet lighter (as mine is a bit dodgy) on there.

Cheers for the advice, in advance! 

Mautrak

An absolute must-have?  A cigar.  That's it.  Everything else is icing on the cake.  You can live without a torch lighter, or without a nice cutter.  But you have to have a cigar.  From that point, sit down, relax, enjoy the cigar, and you're doing it right.

headfirst

Seems like your question is about accessories.  There is one that I got about a year ago that I wish I had when I first started, the perfecdraw.  It basically bores a little hole down the shaft to take care of plugs and tight draws, and you can bore that hole as far down the shaft as you want but it usually only takes about 1/2 inch to an inch to fix the issue.

I can't tell you how many cigars I come across where the draw is not what it should be whether the cigar be pricey or budget-friendly.  The tool runs $40 or so, but even a basic ice pick could probably do just as well.  My advice would be to figure out a tool for getting the draw right.  A tight draw will ruin what should be a great tasting cigar every time.