New to this site

Started by coffeediver, 01/14/2021 11:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

coffeediver

Hello everyone,

My name is Barry.  I am new to the world of cigars but have enjoyed them from time to time especially when going fishing or diving in the Caribbean.  While fishing by brother always brought Swisher Sweets and when in the Caribbean I would buy cigars that said they were Cuban but were not stored in a humidor.

Over the last few months I have met a few people that enjoy cigars and then I found a cigar lounge about an hour from me.  Ok, so I live in the boonies.  I try to get the the lounge at least once a week and enjoy a cigar.

I have also started my own humidor set up and now have 40 in my humble collection.  Once the wife goes off to AZ in a week or so, I will be able to smoke some of these on the back deck when I get off work.  I won't smoke in the house.

My humidor is a Pelican case that is about 18x14x7 using Boveda packs and temp controlled using a standup freezer that plugged into a temp controller that I had set up for beer fermenting.  There is a heater in the freezer that comes on if it gets too cold and in the summer the freezer will kick on if it gets too warm.  The cigars are in an airtight container so the freezer and heater will not affect the humidity.  It works for me and already had all of this so just repurposing.

Barry

Brlesq

Welcome to Cigar Geeks, Barry!  I'm sure you will be able to learn a lot about your new hobby here.
Bruce
Chief Enabler 
Guru of Decorum & Sarcasm

Hey! How come Habana is written on here with a Sharpie ?!?

A day without whiskey is like . . . just kidding, I have no idea!

appollo

Welcome to the site Barry,great and knowledgeable bunch of geeks here.

Mautrak

Welcome to the site Barry.

benchjockey

From one Barry to another, welcome aboard.
You learn more by listening then you do from talking.

Beegerply

Welcome Barry enjoy the site  :biggrin:
Byron

Guru of small balls and big sticks