Making Humidor for College

Started by AndritVoor, 07/13/2009 03:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AndritVoor

Hello.  I'm new to the cigar world (just smoked my first at my brother's graduation, unfortunately I never had one at my own).  I decided to make a small inexpensive humidor to keep a supply of cigars in for when I'm at college.  I bought a canister similar to this one ( http://www.cigarsinternational.com/prodDisp.asp?item=M-CJ02&cat=10 ), but made of ceramic at the local goodwill.     Does anyone have any suggestions for a humidification system?  I was thinking one of those drymistat tubes might work, then I could attach a hygrometer to the top.  Also, since there is no cedar in it, I do not have to season it, right?  If I do add some strips of cedar at a later point, will I have to season them as I go?
Thanks!

ljlemer

For a simple setup you should keep it simple. Forget the cedar. Straight humidifiers that you toss in upright with the sticks sounds good. Make sure they don't leak! A flat one needs a flat space, either underneath the sticks, or on top, but only if all the cigars are the same size, or it won't be flat. Underneath will make the top not flat.
Hygrometers are notoriously inaccurate. Unless you can manage to make them more accurate, and there's a way, forget them. Someone else will explain the way. Keep the cellophane on the cigars!
"Tolerance becomes a crime when applied to evil".

Thomas Mann

b128thopen

there is one key thing you need to remember about humidors.  THEY ARE NEVER BIG ENOUGH!  Your collection will grow and you will just need another one and another and another....Do yourself a favor and research cooladoors if you are going to be making your own.
As far as humidification goes, the % beads are a great way to cheaply humidify your cigars.  Check out http://www.heartfeltindustries.com/products.asp?cat=14 for some good products.
Remember who you are, where you come from, and who you represent.

Just started the Humidor.