anyone else here into shooting sports?

Started by emind56, 03/04/2008 10:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

emind56

Just curious, shooting and to a lesser extent hunting is another one of my numerous hobbies. :confused:

Duker511

I come from a small rural town where alot of people hunt, or own guns. I have been shooting and hunting for about 25 years. I also have a small gun collection from a Tauras .357 magnum to a Hungarian made AK-47. We cannot use rifles to hunt were I live so I use a 1967 Rem. Wingmaster 870 shotgun for deer hunting, and a Mossberg 800 A for turkey and small game.  :shotgun:
Tim

minesman

I dont hunt but I watch a lot of it. Dont care much for bird hunting (quail, turkey etc) but I really like watching a good whitetail hunt.

Question - why are mountain lions and bobcats hunted? I am assuming they arent edible.

Duker511

I hunt for food more than sport. Trophy hunters like to kill the biggest of the species, and to collect mounted heads and pelts. I think hunting mountain lions and bobcats fall in the trophy hunting category. Were I live we can hunt black bears, however I never got into it
 . I also like to take photos of wildlife, I guess that is my trophy hunting. :shotgun:
I dont think many people eat lions or bobcats, but you could if you wanted.
Tim

kgoings

Yes I am into shooting sports, only a different kind of shooting.

I am a photographer on the side and I shoot many different sports and make some good extra change doing it!

Proph

I shoot guns, prefer handguns, rifles are too annoying to go hiking with.  :P  Though I have been eying some .22 rifles that are for "kids", and don't weigh a lot, you can do a lot with a .22.

Also, used to play paintball and airsoft, thinking about getting back into airsoft.
"Do not be too timid or squeamish about your actions, all life is an experiment." -Ralph W. Emerson

Duker511